Research infrastructure

Maritime Campus Elsfleth: Marikom gGmbH, Maritime Training Center Wesermarsch, Jade University

Further information will follow shortly.

Forschungsflieger

Further information will follow shortly.

eMIR – Maritime Integrated Testbed

The generic test field eMIR (e-Maritime Integrated Reference Platform), designed and implemented in cooperation with the DLR Institute for Transport Systems Technology and for Communication and Navigation, has been used since 2014 to research and develop innovative procedures, methods and tools for development, verification and validation (V + V) of new maritime systems. As in other industries (automotive, aviation), maritime systems will also have an increasingly higher degree of automation in the future and enable the systems to react directly to influences from their physical environment, such as the current traffic situation. This poses new challenges for development departments and certification bodies. There is currently still a lack of validation procedures that provide evidence of their functionality (verification) and practicality (validation) during the development of such highly automated systems and that are suitable for certification. Such security procedures are, however, absolutely necessary in order to comply with security requirements and to promote trust in such systems. Accordingly, efficient procedures, methods and tools for V + V must be researched and provided.

As an internationally known maritime test field for industry, small and medium-sized companies and research institutes, eMIR offers the opportunity to research and develop highly automated maritime assistance systems and concepts for autonomous ships. These can be tested under virtual and real conditions in eMIR. Functions that arise during the development of automated systems and technologies are successively tested using the test field. eMIR offers three main uses in researching and developing such systems and technologies: data collection and analysis, performing simulations and physical experiments, and testing and demonstration.

More information you will find here and www.dlr.de/se

Maritime technical center (beginning in autumn 2020)

Further information will follow shortly.

Center of Modeling and Simulation

Further information will follow shortly.

Ship command simulators

As part of the 30th Maritime Navigation Day in Elsfleth in May 2001, the newly built ship handling simulator of the Maritime and Logistics Department was put into operation. The large device was built by Kongsberg Maritime Systems, the world's leading manufacturer of simulation systems, to replace the previous radar simulator.

The central facilities of the device are five fully equipped ship bridges, all of which are equipped with extensive vision systems, two ARPA radars each and an electronic nautical chart.

The simulation system was primarily acquired for the training of young nautical professionals and was designed for this purpose. It is available to students of the department and the Wesermarsch vocational school. The practical training at the department in Elsfleth, which has already had the largest share of simulator training in the course compared to other nautical training institutions, will continue to benefit from this and thus prepare the students even better for the tasks at work.

Research

In addition to a wide range of training opportunities, the modern system can also be used for research purposes. An investigation is currently being carried out on the existing device by the departments of Psychology and Computer Science at the University of Oldenburg. a. concerned with evaluation criteria for training on simulators. The University of Applied Sciences participates in this investigation with regard to the evaluation of student performance required by the STCW.

Furthermore, a training / advanced training program for pilots will have to be developed in cooperation with various pilot brotherhoods; An interest of the pilots in this has been announced since the reduction of the required travel times.
With the pilots and in cooperation with the waterways and shipping directorates, planned changes can e.g. B. the fairway and fairway designations of the Elbe, Weser, Jade and Ems are tested on the simulator for their benefits for the safety of traffic before they are executed. This is only possible on the simulator in Elsfleth at no additional cost, as the German areas of the North Sea coast are completely stored as realistically mapped databases for exercises in the devices.

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this

Forschungsinfrastruktur

Maritimer Campus Elsfleth: Marikom gGmbH, Maritimes Trainings-Zentrum Wesermarsch, Jade Hochschule

Nähere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

Forschungsflieger

Nähere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

eMIR – Maritime Integrated Testbed

Das in Zusammenarbeit mit dem DLR-Instituten für Verkehrssystemtechnik und für Kommunikation und Navigation konzipierte und implementierte generische Testfeld eMIR (e-Maritime Integrated Reference Platform) dient seit 2014 der Erforschung und Entwicklung innovativer Vorgehensweisen, Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Entwicklung, Verifikation und Validierung (V+V) von neuen maritimen Systemen. Ähnlich wie auch in anderen Branchen (Automobil, Luftfahrt) werden zukünftig auch maritime Systeme einen zunehmend höheren Automatisierungsgrad aufweisen und die Systeme in die Lage versetzen, direkt auf Einflüsse aus ihrer physischen Umgebung, wie die aktuelle Verkehrssituation, zu reagieren. Dies stellt Entwicklungsabteilungen und Zertifizierungsstellen vor neue Herausforderungen. Es fehlt aktuell noch an Absicherungsverfahren, die während der Entwicklung solcher hochautomatisierten Systeme einen Nachweis über deren Funktionalität (Verifikation) und Praxistauglichkeit (Validierung) liefern und zur Zertifizierung geeignet sind. Solche Absicherungsverfahren sind jedoch zwingend notwendig, um Sicherheitsanforderungen einzuhalten und um das Vertrauen in solche Systeme zu fördern. Dementsprechend sind effiziente Vorgehensweisen, Methoden und Werkzeuge zur V+V zu erforschen und bereitzustellen.

eMIR bietet als international bekanntes maritimes Testfeld der Industrie, kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen sowie Forschungsinstituten die Möglichkeit, hochautomatisierte maritime Assistenzsysteme und Konzepte für autonome Schiffe zu erforschen und zu entwickeln. Diese können unter virtuellen wie realen Bedingungen in eMIR getestet werden. Funktionen, die bei der Entwicklung von automatisierten Systemen und Technologien entstehen, werden sukzessiv mittels des Testfelds erprobt. eMIR bietet bei der Erforschung und Entwicklung solcher Systeme und Technologien drei wesentliche Einsatzmöglichkeiten: Datensammlung und -analyse, Durchführung von Simulationen und physischen Experimenten sowie Erprobung und Demonstration.

Mehr Informationen finden Sie hier oder  unter www.dlr.de/se

Maritimes Technikum (ab Herbst 2020)

Nähere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

Center of Modeling and Simulation

Nähere Informationen folgen in Kürze.

Schiffsführungssimulatoren

Im Rahmen des 30. Seeschiffahrtstages im Mai 2001 in Elsfleth wurde der neu errichtete Schiffsführungssimulator des Fachbereichs Seefahrt und Logistik in Betrieb genommen. Das Großgerät wurde von der Firma Kongsberg Maritime Systems, dem weltweit führenden Hersteller von Simulationsanlagen, als Ersatz für den bisherigen Radarsimulator gebaut.

Die zentralen Einrichtungen des Gerätes sind fünf komplett ausgestattete Schiffsbrücken, die alle mit umfangreichen Sichtsystemen, je zwei ARPA-Radargeräten sowie einer elektronischen Seekarte ausgerüstet sind.

Die Simulationsanlage ist in erster Linie zur Ausbildung des nautischen Nachwuchses angeschafft und für diesen Zweck konzipiert worden. Sie steht den Studierenden des Fachbereichs und der Berufsschule Wesermarsch zur Verfügung. Die praxisnahe Ausbildung am Fachbereich in Elsfleth, die bereits bisher im Vergleich mit anderen nautischen Ausbildungsstätten den größten Anteil an Simulatorausbildung im Studium aufweisen konnte, wird davon weiter profitieren und die Studierenden damit noch besser auf die Aufgaben im Beruf vorbereiten.

Forschung

Neben vielseitigen Möglichkeiten in der Ausbildung umfasst der Einsatz der modernen Anlage auch die Nutzung zu Forschungszwecken. Derzeit läuft am vorhandenen Gerät eine Untersuchung der Fachbereiche Psychologie und Informatik der Uni Oldenburg, die sich u. a. mit Bewertungskriterien für die Ausbildung an Simulatoren befaßt. An dieser Untersuchung beteiligt sich die FH im Hinblick auf die nach STCW geforderte Bewertung der studentischen Leistungen.

Weiter wird in Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Lotsenbrüderschaften ein Ausbildungs-/ Fortbildungsprogramm für Lotsen zu entwickeln sein; ein Interesse der Lotsen daran kündigt sich seit der Herabsetzung der erforderlichen Fahrtzeiten an.
Mit den Lotsen und in Zusammenarbeit mit den Wasser- und Schiffahrtsdirektionen können geplante Veränderungen z. B. der Fahrwasser und Fahrwasserbezeichnungen von Elbe, Weser, Jade und Ems vor der Ausführung am Simulator auf ihren Nutzen für die Sicherheit des Verkehrs getestet werden. Dies ist nur am Simulator in Elsfleth ohne zusätzliche Kosten möglich, da die bundesdeutschen Reviere der Nordseeküste vollständig als realistisch abgebildete Datenbanken für Übungen in den Geräten hinterlegt sind.

Previous Next
Close
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this